Well all have heard that ‘Practise makes perfect’

First I am going to say that I am not a scholar of the Bible just someone who loves God and Jesus Christ

How did it all start?
Firstly confession time: I did not like reading the Bible because I had this notion in my head that it was boring and outdated.
So I did everything but read the word, listen to sermons, podcast, YouTube. Nothing wrong in that. Right? Well one thing I found is I was not in a relationship with Christ. So one morning got up, was praying and just talking to God as I want a relationship. This is when the idea came to me at the time it was an idea (now it was God speaking into my heart) Why don’t you get it from (straight) from the horse’s mouth. Not bibilcal but I got the meaning straight away. Meaning pick the Bible and get in commune with me.

God is not partial and doesn’t have special plans for special people or only speaks to special people. He Loves everyone and yes that includes you and I.

For the first time I switch my YouTube picked the Bible (paper Book) It was still in it cover and wrapped. This was a gift that was on the shelf gathering dust. Where do I start with this whole thing? Ecclestiates was my first book to open and I just loved the honesty of the man. “Vanity of vanities all is vanity” To everything there is a season, A time for every purpose under heaven. Two are better than one because they have a good reward for their labour. The epic ending to the chapter is “Fear God and keep His commandments, For this is man’s all. For God will bring every work into judgement, including every secret thing, Whether good or evil.” Ecclesiates 12:13b-14

At the time I never release the effect that had on me, because I was hurting so much. My papa passing away at the age of 64 and I was looking for answers and those messages resonate to me. Looking back that was God comforting me and giving the right answer I needed at the time. Going to Church, doing alpha and getting baptise.

Every scripture is God breathed. Yes someone wrote it but they did not write by there own power. GOD had an input into it which is why it will never change to suit our style or what we think it should be.

But the plans of the Lord stand firm forever, the purposes of his heart through all generations. Psalms 33:11 NIV

The first thing that I started to learn was it was not about me. The Bible is not there so we can improve our knowledge and be book smart. No it is not that type of Book, what it is there for is to teach us so we can teach others what we have learned. To also learn from others too ‘Iron sharpen Iron’ Now I like the sound of that. And also ‘a time for everthing under the soon’ my time is not the same as God’s time.

The entire Bible is a Love relationship, full of drama, ups and down. So when I made it the Book of John it was time to change and look at what it means about loving myself and others. Love, not the way the world love with feelings but with an action. Now this was hard for me and not something I wanted to do. Well if we want to get closer to Jesus Love is the number thing that we will need to receive from Him. You can cannot give what you don’t have, so I had a clear out of my house. My flat was full of things that I have accumlated over the years. Shoes that I bought and wear for one day and never wear again. Dresses worn just once, the list goes on and it safe to say that day, counted about ten bags full of things. All these was a process to look at the things that we buy always that are unnecessary and could save us a lot of money for better things.

There was a lot of black bags and one of the things to take away from these packed bags was that we buy that we might use someday and that day never come. Why waist the money on someday and not use for today? Or just save the money.

In this process as usual a war in the mind, one saying let go and give it to someone that will use it today not someday. The other was thinking you could make money out of this as usual my selfish nature has to show it’s ugly head. As usual, for some reason the taught in my head was you cannot serve two masters, for you will love one and hate the other. This is true if we choose the money then everything we do is about the money and also God says why worry about what you can eat and drink. Now I am not a rich person but been able to discern when to take the bait is something we should always pray for. We all have a choose at the time as vulenerable as that money was not the answer. So packed it all up and gave it away, bruise one half of me but then she did get over it and moved on.

What has this got to do with LOVE, well everything. I had to look deep inside me to see what was holding me back from loving others. As the bags were packed they represented all the past hurts and all the emotions that had built up inside. They are in these bag, all shape and sizes, sitting down, could never forget as I met with Jesus and we looked at the bags with all the things inside them.

One question is Are you ready? Did I do it straight away? No of course not. I felt like Pharaoh when Moses spoke to him and his answer was come back tomorrow. Letting go is not an easy thing to do but it something we have to do if we are to move on.

Failing to release at the time that we are never alone, leaving by sight not faith in Jesus who was right with me. Yes the bags are gone and so are some of the emotions and hurts. It is a process and will take time to heal, One of the great thing is staying in the word of God, this will help to heal. Be around people that loves us and finally but not last it is not about us, we have to learn to give back what we given.

All this is is not an overnight process, but definetly practicing it will bring you closer to the goal. No one is perfect, trying to be perfect will be very discouraging and can lead to failure. Doing the best you can with the little God has given you will give you success and an achievement to improve on.

Praying to God and talking to others professional or personal is definetly a good thing.

The Bible: When you read it daily, it makes us equip for the road that lies ahead.

Not sure what lies ahead but I do know that I will walking with God holding my right hand. For he is my strength and shield.